Only What’s Done For Christ Will Last

We’ve Only One Life ~ It Soon Will Be Past ~ Only What’s Done For Christ Will Last

 

Only One Life

Two little lines I heard one day, Traveling along life’s busy way;
Bringing conviction to my heart, And from my mind would not depart;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, yes only one, Soon will its fleeting hours be done;
Then, in ‘that day’ my Lord to meet, And stand before His Judgment seat;
Only one life,’ twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, the still small voice, Gently pleads for a better choice
Bidding me selfish aims to leave, And to God’s holy will to cleave;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, a few brief years, Each with its burdens, hopes, and fears;
Each with its clays I must fulfill, living for self or in His will;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

When this bright world would tempt me sore, When Satan would a victory score;
When self would seek to have its way, Then help me Lord with joy to say;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Give me Father, a purpose deep, In joy or sorrow Thy word to keep;
Faithful and true what e’er the strife, Pleasing Thee in my daily life;
Only one life, ’twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Oh let my love with fervor burn, And from the world now let me turn;
Living for Thee, and Thee alone, Bringing Thee pleasure on Thy throne;
Only one life, “twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Only one life, yes only one, Now let me say, “Thy will be done”;
And when at last I’ll hear the call, I know I’ll say ‘twas worth it all”;
Only one life,’ twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.

poem written by C.T. Studd – missionary

 

1 Corinthians 3:10-23

By the grace God has given me, I laid a foundation as an expert builder, and someone else is building on it.  But each one should be careful how he builds. 

 

For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ. 

If any man builds on this foundation using gold, silver, costly stones, wood, hay or straw, his work  will be shown for what it is, because the Day will bring it to light. 

 

It will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test the quality of each man’s work.  If what he has built survives, he will receive his reward.  If it is burned up, he will suffer loss, he himself will be saved, but only as one escaping through the flames. 

 

Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you?  If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy him; for God’s temple is sacred, and you are that temple. 

 

Do not deceive yourselves.  If any one of you thinks he is wise by the standards of this age, he should become a ‘fool’ so that he may become wise.  For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God’s sight.  As it is written:  ‘He catches the wise in their craftiness’ and again, ‘the Lord knows that the thoughts of the wise are futile.’ 

 

So then, no more boasting about men!  All things are yours, whether Paul or Apollos or Cephas or the world or life or death or the present or the future – all are yours, and you are of Christ, and Christ is of God.

  

2 Corinthians 5:1, 5, 7, 9, 10

Now we know that if the earthly tent we live in is destroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal house in Heaven -  Not built by human hands 

 

Now it is God who has made us for this very purpose and has given us the Spirit as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come …

 

We live by faith, not by sight …

 

So we make it our goal to please Him …

 

For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive what is due him for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad.

 

*The video lesson was shot on location on the shore of the Mediterranean Sea at Caesarea Maritima.
No matter what happens, what you do for Christ will last forever. There’s only one thing you can take to heaven with you–people. Don’t waste your time and energy and treasures on things that won’t last.

1 Corinthians 3; 2 Corinthians 5:10

Dr. John Barnett
Discover The Book Ministries
http://www.discoverthebook.org

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Only What’s Done For Christ Will Last”

  1. Maryb Says:

    Blessed Your threads are so uplifting, I am so blessed to be getting to know you better.

  2. Fred Lanting Says:

    Thanks for the popem by Studd “Only One Life”… I’d been searching all over for it.
    https://napahelen.wordpress.com/2008/09/23/only-whats-done-for-christ-will-last/

  3. May Moseley Says:

    I’m so glad I found this thru Google. I had been looking for it as I remember my Mother saying it over and over and I wanted to use it in November when I visit inmates on Death Row in Florida that is part of my prison/jail/rehab ministry. God bless you as you service Him.

  4. Trudy Says:

    I was just seeking!

    Within my devotion; I sribbled, “only what is done for christ will last.”
    This is a very early in life teaching of me.

    after I wrote this in my notes=I wrote “this teaching has proven (not-to-be) an absolute!

    So, then I googled it. And, got you. I’m seeking the Truth teaching which I was taught-up under; the teaching that some many seems to easily

  5. Becky A. Beeler Beaird Says:

    My mom introduced me to this poem this weekend….LOVE IT!!

  6. Earl Thompson Says:

    I love it

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

